Personal Reflections on the Suicide of the Genie

This post is one of those that’s just for me. I need to talk about this and get my thoughts and feelings together. So today I’m not writing to entertain you or to inform you, I’m writing for me.

Like so many of us, I grew up loving Aladdin, Jumanji, and Mrs. Doubtfire. As an adult, if I can’t find a good movie on Netflix I search for a solid actor’s name, Sean Connery, Johnny Depp, Robin Williams. I relied on this man for entertainment. I didn’t know him personally, never met him, couldn’t have told you how old he was or how many kids he had. And yet his suicide has still impacted me. The happy-go-lucky, fun-loving, endearing Genie decided to end his life. It feels as if my childhood betrayed me and it was all a lie. The laughter, the joy was fake.

It’s crazy that the suicide of this man, despite my nonexistent relationship with him, would cause such a disturbance in my heart. I did not know him at all. And I am still upset. Then I think about this: how much greater is the disturbance in God’s heart when he sees his beloved children whom he knows better than we know ourselves continuing to die without knowing him. 

One last thought. I think the idea of “Genie, you’re free.” is beautiful. But friends, it does not apply here. To anyone who has considered ending their own life, pulling the trigger does not equal freedom. Death is not the place you will find the peace and joy your life is currently without. There is always hope. Seek the one who created joy and invented peace. God, your father, loves you and will care for you in your depression and you are never too far gone for him.

Cancer did not take the Genie’s life from him, a drunk driver did not take the life of Mrs. Doubtfire, Robin Williams decided to check out. Let us not glorify the taking of his own life in an attempt to make ourselves feel better and have more pleasant thoughts. 

Leave a Reply

