Scrambled Eggs…I’ve been making them wrong

 

This video rocked my world today. My husband and I have been going through Gordon Ramsay’s Kitchen Nightmares on Netflix. Chef Ramsay is intense! He is a famous chef with several TV shows. He does not put up with anybody’s mess and he tells it like it is. He might get in your face and make you cry but he is genuinely there to help you. And I love it.

All the Netflix Ramsay made me want more so I searched out some Pinterest Ramsay. What I found was a huge amount of hilarious memes and a few recipes. One of the recipes was this video! Apparently I have been making scrambled eggs completely wrong my whole life. Normally I whisk my eggs, put some butter in a frying pan, pour in the eggs, salt pepper and scrape the pan until they’re fluffy and not wet then sprinkle with cheese. That’s it. Some people add milk to their eggs for fluffier eggs. Chef Ramsay’s technique was totally different and I loved it!

Instead of a frying pan he uses a pot. He said do not whisk the eggs. He cracks them right into the pot with some butter and stirs them with a spatula. He keeps taking them off the heat and putting them back on. I’m not sure what purpose this serves but I did it anyway. Salt and pepper at the end and he adds some creme fraiche, which I learned is kind of like sour cream. He also cooks some tomatoes and mushrooms and toast. Here’s what I did. I made the eggs exactly like he did but without the creme fraiche or other extras. The eggs were very different from what I’m used to. I put some cheddar cheese on top to melt and on a piece of toast I spread my homemade spicy hummus then topped it with the eggs. Oh. My. Goodness. Delish. Toast, hummus, gourmet scrambled eggs. YUM. I will be having this for breakfast again tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

