My Winning Design!

HenInviteForBlogSooo I won a design contest! I’m pretty excited about it. I started poking around on this website called Freelancer.com and thought I’d give it a try. The website allows people who need freelance work done to either post a job listing to have artists make bids for the job or they can create a contest for their project. If an employer chooses to create a contest the artists can submit their designs, get feedback from the employer and submit again with changes if they desire. 

For this contest a young lady in Australia needed invitations for a “Hen’s Party” (I guess that’s what they call bachelorette parties there). She gave all the information that needed to be included (which I have changed for the image above to protect her privacy) and attached four images of designs that were similar to what she was looking for. One sample image that she gave was a pin-up girl on top of the title letters. She specified that this image was her favorite but that she would rather have a tropical looking girl. Of the other three sample images, two had grey backgrounds and all three had pink floral arrangements.

As you can see, I took careful note of what the employer was showing us that she wanted and did my best to combine the ideas from different designs that she liked. Now, you might be thinking, “Well, duh, if she said she wanted the pin-up girl, you’d better have that in there if you want a chance at winning.” You would be amazed at how many people completely ignored what the employer said they wanted. Personally, I really don’t like the pin-up girl idea for a bachelorette party invite but it’s what she asked for! I put my client’s happiness at the top of my priorities. 

Once the employer chose my design as the winner I had a space to upload the files for her to download. We were able to message each other and change the file type to what she needed. After she had what she needed she approved my prize money to be released. I had so much fun doing this project! I really love doing wedding related designs and the excitement of competition was such a great aspect of this project. I look forward to many more fun projects like this one!

 

Leave a Reply

