Zucchini Tempura with Spicy Mayo Sauce

P1090120Oh my goodness this was possibly the greatest thing I have ever made! A coworker had a ton of zucchini from her garden that she didn’t want to go to waste so this is what I did with my share. I know, I’m far from my attempt to be low carb with this one, but I’ve already forgiven myself, no worries. This stuff tasted so divine, like heaven in my mouth. My husband and I were in awe that this vegetable was transformed into such deliciousness. Tempura is basically just an Asian style batter for frying things. It’s great for frying shrimp, vegetables, chicken, Oreos, anything…ok maybe not Oreos…I haven’t tried that yet but it’s going on the “to try” list now. I adapted the tempura batter recipe from the one on Great Party Recipes.

P1090123

Zucchini Tempuraย 

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1/2 cup cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 egg
  • 2/3 cup ice water
  • Oil for deep frying (I used vegetable oil)
  • 3-4 medium/large size zucchini

Slice your zucchini into rounds about 1/4 inch thick. Mix together the dry ingredients and set aside. In a medium bowl, beat the egg and mix with the ice water. Stir in the dry ingredients, stirring only until mixed; the mixture will be slightly lumpy. Meanwhile, heat a deep skillet with about an inch of oil on medium heat. To know when the oil is ready, drop a tiny bit of batter into it. If the oil sizzles around the batter it’s ready. Dip zucchini slicesย into the batter and deep fry in hot oil until golden brown. Drain on paper towels. It’s important to keep the batter chilled. I put a few battered slices in the pan and while they cooked I stuck the rest of the batter in the fridge.

P1090124

Spicy Mayo Dipping Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1.5 TB Sriracha sauce
  • 1 tsp lime juice

P1090125Just mix these together and you have a yummy dipping sauce for pretty much anything you decide to fry…except maybe those Oreos. This sauce is original with me and we like things pretty spicy at my house. So if you don’t like super spicy food, try gradually adding the Sriracha until it’s at a heat level that you can enjoy.

Leave a Reply

