Man-Pleasin’ Low Carb Stuffed Peppers

P1090116Pep

It doesn’t happen too often that I find a meal that both my husband and myself really enjoy AND that I approve of with my standards of “healthy.” This is one of those rare meals. Oh and on top of all that it is insanely affordable to make. “You can’t beat that with a stick,” as my Old Man would say. 

For the last several years I have restricted myself to a semi-low-carb diet. I’ve fallen off the wagon, as we all do, but I’m back on it now and I’m determined to be the healthiest me possible. Can I get an “Amen!”? This recipe easily allows me to omit carbs for myself while still filling my 6’4″ husband’s tummy. 

This filling feeds a lot of people. After we filled three peppers (six open halves) we have enough filling for probably four burritos. That’s what we’ll have for our lunches for the next couple of days. This filling is perfect for wrapping in a tortilla. I’ll wrap mine in a leaf of romaine lettuce though.

Ingredients:

  • Olive Oil
  • 1/2 lb lean ground turkey breast
  • 1/2 cup chopped white onion
  • 3 heaping tbsp of taco seasoning
  • 2 cups of cooked rice (any type you like – I like white)
  • 3-4 organic bell peppers, halved and seeds removed
  • 1 can of black beans, drained & rinsed
  • 1 cup of frozen corn
  • 1 cup of salsa

Toppings:

  • Shredded Cheddar cheese
  • Ranch Dressing

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees. Lightly coat the peppers with olive oil and roast in a baking dish about 20-25 minutes just until cooked through. 

While peppers are cooking, cook turkey and onions in a skillet. In a bowl add the taco seasoning, cooked ground turkey, chopped onions, black beans, corn, salsa and mix well. Use this as the filling for anyone going low-carb. To the rest of the filling stir in the rice.

Carefully spoon the turkey mixture into each half of the bell peppers and place back into the baking dish. Cook the peppers for another 15-20 minutes or until the peppers are cooked all the way through.

Remove from the oven and top with cheese. Try drizzling ranch dressing on top too!


P1090113I adapted my recipe from the one I found one Simply Love Food

Leave a Reply

